Canadian Muslims Foil Terrorist Plot to Derail Train

On Monday Royal Canadian Mounted Police announced that Raed Jaser and suspected accomplice Chiheb Esseghaier were arrested in connection with a planned derailment of a Via Rail Canada train within the country, New York Times reports. The police have yet to figure out the details of the plot, but do credit members of the Canadian Muslim community for tipping off authorities to a terrorist plan to attack a train with both men allegedly working with al Qaeda. Muhammad Robert Heft, a Muslim leader in Ontario, told the Toronto Sun the imam of a local Muslim community helped foil the plot by alerting authorities. Heft has this to say,”At the end of the day, it’s not how you dress, it’s how you think. In our community we may look a little different, but in our hearts we love Canada. It’s our country. It’s our tribe. We want safety for all Canadians regardless of their religion.” And to those misconceptions and stereotypes of Muslims such as not sharing information, he told the Sun, “We have to be on the front lines. To either nip it in the bud in the very beginning or cooperate with authorities so they can be brought to justice.”

According to Huff Post, Heft told CNN the Canadian police informed the Islamic community Monday during a briefing about imam’s help in the capturing and subsequent prevention of the terrorist plot. Heft had this to say to the RCM police, “We are supportive and thankful that the RCMP did the investigation and was able to apprehend the individuals before anything happened. We are pleased that they took us in and explained what was going on.”  The two men involved have  been under close watch for over a year and Imam Yusuf Badat, of the Islamic Foundation of Toronto, told Canadian CBC that tips from the Muslim community led to the capture Monday. U.S. Ambassador David Jacobson added the two men were arrested following cross boarder operations and in a statement says,”It underscores the fact that we face serious and real threats, and that security is a shared responsibility. We all need to remain vigilant in confronting threats and keeping North America safe and secure.” The accused men were arrested because, according to the Associated Press, they received instruction and guidance from member of al Qaeda in Shiite led Iran even though the group is a Sunni Arab network. The penalties being brought against the men include conspiracy to carry out an attack and murder people in association with a terrorist organization.

25 thoughts on “Canadian Muslims Foil Terrorist Plot to Derail Train

  1. Ricky says:

    Great site. A lot of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks in your sweat!

  2. Melba says:

    Terrific post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

  3. 2013 at 22:50 says:

    Wonderful work! That is the type of information that are supposed to be shared across
    the web. Shame on the search engines for no
    longer positioning this publish higher! Come on over and consult with
    my site . Thank you =)

  4. Bret says:

    My brother recommended I may like this website. He used to be totally
    right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  5. Florentina says:

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the best sites on the
    internet. I am going to highly recommend this web site!

  6. atc2k action camera says:

    Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

  7. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, amazing blog!

  8. Shana says:

    I’ll right away seize your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any?
    Kindly let me recognize in order that I could subscribe.

    Thanks.

  9. Tonja says:

    Its not my first time to visit this site, i am browsing this web site dailly and get pleasant information from here daily.

  10. Carlos says:

    This excellent website definitely has all the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  11. Eva H. Hines says:

    I am truly glad to read this weblog posts which carries
    lots of useful information, thanks for providing such information.

  12. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also visit this website on
    regular basis to obtain updated from most recent news.

  13. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Wonderful blog and wonderful design.

  14. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this sort of house .

    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Studying this info So i am happy to convey
    that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I came upon just what I
    needed. I so much definitely will make sure to don?t put out of your mind this web site and
    provides it a glance regularly.

  15. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I have discovered It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I’m hoping to give a contribution & help different customers like its helped me.
    Great job.

  16. Agatha Y. Prather says:

    Hello Dear, are you really visiting this site regularly, if so then you
    will definitely take pleasant knowledge.

  17. I blog quite often and I seriously thank
    you for your information. The article has really
    peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  18. What’s up to every body, it’s my first go to see of
    this web site; this blog contains awesome and really excellent information in support of
    visitors.

  19. This page truly has all of the information and facts
    I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  20. Donald J. Phillips says:

    An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    There’s no doubt that that you ought to write more on
    this subject, it may not be a taboo matter but usually people don’t talk about such subjects.
    To the next! Best wishes!!

  21. Epifania says:

    Wonderful, what a weblog it is! This web site gives valuable facts to us, keep it up.

  22. Andreas says:

    Right now it looks like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  23. Sherrill says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.

    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful
    information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  24. Jovan W. Joeckel says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  25. Malorie says:

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a material!
    present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web page.

    homepage (Malorie)

Tell me what you think.

