Volunteers Rescue 1,000 Cats From Slaughter In China During Truck Accident (PHOTO)

Volunteers Rescue 1,000 Cats From Slaughter In China During Truck Accident (PHOTO).

Wow this is a lot of cats, but these volunteers were able to free them all considering where the cats were going to end up. Volunteers in Guangdong, China rescued 1,000 cats in 40 cramped cages on a truck from near death after a traffic accident. The cats were actually on there way to be sold for meat at a restaurant when the accident happened and left abandoned while the driver was being rushed to the hospital. Dozens of locals who helped with the rescue negotiated with the business owner to buy the animals who were in poor health. Volunteers took some of the animals home, while others were nursed some back to health then transported them to the Changsha Small Animal Protection Association for treatment. There is no law against selling cats for meat to restaurants and these cat snatchers sell each cat for $1 to$2 to middle men who transport the cargo to restaurants according to the Telegraph. About 4 million cats are eaten in China each year  reports the Nanfang Daily newspaper.

2 thoughts on “Volunteers Rescue 1,000 Cats From Slaughter In China During Truck Accident (PHOTO)

  1. Hey I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by accident,
    while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like
    to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all
    at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  2. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back frequently!

Tell me what you think.

